Chalmers pedagogical prize

Chalmers’ Pedagogical Prize shall encourage teachers’ efforts to improve and develop the conditions for students’ learning, in line with Chalmers’ goal of “world-class education”.

Nominations are submitted between 1 March and 31 May each year. To submit a nomination, use the nomination application form below.
​Link to the nomination form​​

Objective and background

The objective of Chalmers’ Pedagogical Prize is to encourage teachers’ efforts to improve and develop the conditions for students’ learning, in line with Chalmers’ goal of “world-class education”. Chalmers’ Pedagogical Prize was established in 2006 by the vice president of undergraduate education to encourage and acknowledge good educational examples at the university. The SEK 30,000 in prize money per person is awarded annually to 1–3 recipients working at Chalmers. The prize money is for continuing professional development in relation to educational methods. Chalmers’ pedagogical prize is awarded at Rektor i RunAn each spring. 

Chalmers’ Pedagogical Prize has been presented since 2006; see decision C 2005-1014.


The jury consists of four people. Chalmers Student Union appoints one person, the network Chalmers Learning Centre proposes a person to the Vice President of Education and Lifelong Learning, who appoints the teaching-staff representative each year. A professor of Engineering Education Research (EER) and the coordinator of the Learning Centre are also included. The jury considers the nominations and proposes candidates to the Vice President of Education and Lifelong Learning.

All teachers can be nominated

All teachers can be nominated, and in its assessment, the jury should try to ensure distribution of the winners over the different categories. If candidates have equal merit, the jury is to take account of the under-represented gender in the circle of prizewinners. Nominees should be active in education at Chalmers and can be employed at Chalmers or the University of Gothenburg.

Anyone can nominate

Good educators can be nominated by students, heads of programmes, Master’s coordinators and Vice heads of department as well as other staff. People cannot nominate themselves.

Guidelines for Chalmers Pedagogical Prize

The nomination must describe the relevant achievement and comprise up to 600 words. The justification must be linked to the overall criterion, and to the criteria in one or more of the areas below and contain concrete examples of good educational actions. In the nomination it is more important to present a clearly developed example of an achievement within one area than to cover several areas.

In your nomination you must describe the achievement that you think should be rewarded, and you must answer the following questions:

  • What has the nominee done that is worthy of the award? Which course or programme does it apply to? Describe in detail what activity/change has been performed.
  • How has the nominee achieved this?
  • How do you know that it has benefited the students?

Overall criteria

  • The prize winner’s educational work must have benefited the students.
  • The ability to critically and analytically reflect on their own educational action in the education with the aim of creating improvements. (This is not to be verified in the nomination; it is shown by those selected to the group of frontrunners for the award.)


 Learning-centred planning of education

  • Planning or designing a new course or restructuring an existing one to attain good interplay between learning objectives, learning activities and examination/assessment.
  • Development of new learning activities, teaching materials and learning environments that support the students’ specialised learning. This could consist of development/use of known important factors for learning.
  • Designing forms of assessment/examination that stimulate creativity, understanding and learning.
  • Programme development: Development of a learning-centred educational programme that prepares the student well for a professional position and lifelong learning.

Academic leadership

  • A good ability to ask oneself questions regarding students’ learning and to gradually and unwaveringly try to answer them.
  • Environment builder: Active contribution to also developing colleagues’ practices, through sharing experiences and promoting collaboration in teams of lecturers.

We look forward to receiving your nominations!

Pedagogical prizewinners


​Emilio Da Cruz Brandao, Architecture and Civil Engineering
Jan-Philipp Steghöfer, The Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Frank Persson, Kathleen Murphy och Oskar Modin, Architecture and Civil Engineering​


Christophe Demaziere, Physics
Oskar Rexfelt, Industrial and Materials Science
Jonathan Weidow, Physics, Magnus Karlsteen, Physics and Hans Malmström, Communication and Learning in Science


Håkan Burden, Computer Science and Engineering, and Frances Sprei, Space, Earth and Environment
Marija Cvijovic, Mathematical Sciences
Anna Hedén, Mechanics and Maritime Sciences


Mia Bondelind, Architecture and Civil Engineering
Risat Pathan, Computer Science and Engineering 
Christian Sandström, Technology Management and Economics


Niklas Broberg, Computer Science and Engineering
Daniel Persson, Mathematical Sciences


Ulf Gran, Physics
Anette Larsson, Chemistry and chemical engineering
Mikael Odenberger, Energy and Environment 


Julie Gold, Engineering Physics
Martin Larsson, Shipping and Marine Technology
Johan Magnusson, Shipping and Marine Technology
Lennart Svensson, Signals and Systems


Peter Almström and Cecilia Berlin, Materials and Manufacturing Technology respective​ Product and Production Development
Marcus Holgersson, Teknikens ekonomi och organisation
Olaf Landsiedel, Computer Science and Engineering


Magnus Evertsson, Product and Production Development
Dina Petranovic Nielsen, Chemistry and Bioengineering
Fredrik Olindersson, Shipping and Marine Technology


Koen Lindström Claessen, Computer Science and Engineering
Karl-Gunnar Olsson, Architecture
Björn Sandén, Energy and Environment


Ulf Jäglid, Chemistry and Bioengineering
Jan Alve Svensson, Mathematical Sciences
Örjan Söderberg, Product and Production Development


Dag Wedelin, Computer Science and Engineering
Ahmed Hussain, Signals and Systems
Mikael Enelund, Applied Mechanics


Sakib Sistek, Computer Science and Engineering
Maria Knutson Wedel, Materials and Manufacturing Technology
Göran Nyman, Fundamental Physics


Tünde Fülöp, Teknisk fysik
Stig Larsson, Mathematical Sciences
Björn Engström, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Ulla Blomqvist, Mathematical Sciences
Steve Svensson, Civil and Environmental Engineering


Malin Kjellberg, Applied Mechanics
Nicola Markovic, Chemistry and Bioengineering
Krister Ström, Chemistry and Bioengineering
Lena Peterson, Computer Science and Engineering
Alessandro Romeo, Radio and Space


Marita Olsson, Mathematical Sciences
Magnus Ekh, Applied Mechanics​


Page manager Published: Thu 05 May 2022.