The academic year - dates and times


Academic Year

An acadmic year at Chalmers is divided into two semesters, where each semester consists of two study periods. A study period consists of seven to nine study weeks and ends with an examination period. A number of self study days can also be part of a study period. There are also five re-sit examination periods distributed over the academic year.

Autumn term:
Monday September 3, 2018 - Sunday January 20, 2019

Spring term:
Monday January 21, 2019 - Sunday June 9, 2019

The Student Union's career contact days (CHARM, arbetsmarknadsdagar) at the Johanneberg campus.
All lectures and classes that are scheduled for Master and incoming exchange students on Tuesday February 5, 2019 in the afternoon from 1 pm to 4 pm should be changed to another time. All lectures and classes after 10 am on Wednesday February 6, 2019 are to be cancelled for these students.

Personal growth training program for all Chalmers students - Of Course
Thursday February 14, 2019. All lectures and classes are to be cancelled from 12 am for all students.

According to Chalmers wage agreement Easter Eve, Friday following Ascension Day, Midsummer's Eve, Christmas Eve and New Year's Eve are equivalent to holidays. On the following working days, ordinary working hours are reduced by four hours (half day): Walpurgis Eve, the day before All Hallow's Eve and 23 december. Such working free time shall not be scheduled.


From To
Sign-up re-sit examination days August Wed 2018-06-13 Wed 2018-08-01
Re-sit examination days August Mon 2018-08-20 Sat 2018-09-01

Aut 2018 From To
Registration Autumn Term Mon 2018-08-20 Mon 2018-09-10
Sign-up re-sit examination days October Mon 2018-08-20 Thu 2018-09-27
Examination sign-up study period 1 Mon 2018-08-20 Thu 2018-10-11
Sign-up re-sit examination days Christmas, New Year Mon 2018-08-20 Thu 2018-12-13
Examination sign-up study period 2 Mon 2018-08-20 Thu 2018-12-20
Study period 1 Mon 2018-09-03 Fri 2018-11-02
Course selection for study period 2, the autumn 2018 Tue 2018-09-18 Tue 2018-10-09
Re-sit examination days October/self-study Fri 2018-10-12 Sat 2018-10-13
Examination days 1 Sat 2018-10-27 Fri 2018-11-02
Study period 2 Mon 2018-11-05 Sat 2019-01-19
Course selection for the spring 2019 Tue 2018-11-20 Tue 2018-12-11
Self-study Thu 2018-12-27 Fri 2018-12-28
Self-study Wed 2019-01-02 Fri 2019-01-04
Re-sit examination days Christmas, New Year/Self-study Mon 2019-01-07 Wed 2019-01-09
Self-study Thu 2019-01-10 Fri 2019-01-11
Examination days 2 Sat 2019-01-12 Sat 2019-01-19
Registration Spring Term Mon 2019-01-14 Sun 2019-01-20

Spr 2019 From To
Examination sign-up study period 3 Mon 2019-01-14 Thu 2019-02-28
Sign-up re-sit examination days Easter Mon 2019-01-14 Thu 2019-04-04
Examination sign-up study period 4 Mon 2019-01-14 Tue 2019-05-14
Sign-up re-sit examination days June Mon 2019-01-14 Wed 2019-05-22
Registration Spring Term, cont Mon 2019-01-21 Mon 2019-01-28
Study period 3 Mon 2019-01-21 Sat 2019-03-23
CHARM (Career contact days) Tue 2019-02-05 Wed 2019-02-06
Personal growth training program - Of Course Thu 2019-02-14 Thu 2019-02-14
Examination days 3 Sat 2019-03-16 Sat 2019-03-23
Study period 4 Mon 2019-03-25 Sat 2019-06-08
Application period for Master's Programmes academic year 2019/20 for undergraduate students at Chalmers Mon 2019-04-01 Mon 2019-04-15
Course selection for the autumn 2019 Tue 2019-04-09 Tue 2019-05-07
Self-study Thu 2019-04-18 Thu 2019-04-18
Self-study Tue 2019-04-23 Tue 2019-04-23
Re-sit examination days Easter/Self-study Wed 2019-04-24 Fri 2019-04-26
Self-study Mon 2019-04-29 Tue 2019-04-30
Self-study Fri 2019-05-31 Fri 2019-05-31
Examination days 4 Sat 2019-06-01 Sat 2019-06-08
Re-sit examination days June Mon 2019-06-10 Wed 2019-06-12


Published: Fri 01 Apr 2011. Modified: Fri 20 Apr 2018