​Important information about saving files on student computers

​Chalmers' IT department wants to remind all students of the routines that apply when using the student computers (StuDAT) in the computer rooms on campus.​

When you use Chalmers student computers, it is important that you always save your files in your home directory Z: At the moment it is possible to be logged in to several computers at the same time and in these cases it is only the first login that saves your files if you for example puts them on the desktop. On other computers, everything that is not saved on Z: at logout is deleted. 

How do I know if I am logged in to multiple computers at the same time? 

If you are logged in to several computers at the same time, it will be clearly visible in the background. Look for a large red text in the right corner that warns you that you are logged in to several computers at the same time. On computer #2 you will clearly see a big pop-up window with this information. 

Do you want to be completely sure that your data is always saved? Save all on Z: 

Tip: Always log out when you are done with the computer, then you minimize the risk of losing important information!

Published: Wed 23 Sep 2020.